21 0

Posted by  in Latest News

The Professionals’ Committee Hands over the Report on Power Failure

On Friday, December 03, 2021, Sri Lanka’s electric power supply grid experienced a total system failure, which was preceded by a partial failure experienced on November 29. 2021 affecting many parts of the country.

Mrs Wasantha Perera, Secretary to the Ministry of Power appointed the following Committee of Professionals to study and report on the root causes of the two incidents and to recommend remedial actions that should be taken to prevent such occurrences in the future.

Prof. Lilantha Samaranayake, Department of Electrical & Electronic Engineering Faculty of Engineering, University of Peradeniya (Chairman)

Dr. Tilak Siyambalapitiya, Managing Director, Resource Management Association(Pvt.)Ltd

Mr. E. A. Rathnaseela, Additional Director General, Department of National Planning

Dr. M. N. Susantha Perera, former Additional Secretary, Ministry of Power

Mr. Sugath Dharmakeerthi, Additional Secretary, Ministry of Power

Mr. Nalinda Illangakoon, Vice Chairman, CEB

Mr. Andrew Nawamuni, Additional General Manager/Generation, CEB

The Committee has handed over the Report to the Secretary today at the Ministry of Power.

Ministry of Power